The National Sound and Film Archive has today announced its inductions into the Sounds of Australia archive for 2020.

Silverchair’s 1994 breakout ‘Tomorrow’, recorded when the band were merely 14 and 15 years of age, will be enshrined in this year’s canon alongside Aussie anthems like Williamson’s ‘True Blue’ and The Master’s Apprentices classic ‘Because I Love You’, deemed by many to be one of the best Australian songs of the 1970s.

Other songs inducted into this year’s Sounds of Australia archive include Alison McCallum’s ‘It’s Time’, the campaign song for Gough Whitlam’s 1972 election campaign, as well as early vaudeville singer Hamilton Hill’s 1907 recording ‘Starlight’.

Elsewhere, the 2020 inductees are rounded out by Arnhem Land Popular Classics, the first record to bring widespread attention to the didgeridoo, as wells recordings of the opening and closing ceremony for the 1956 Melbourne Olympics, a recording of the infamous Martin/Molloy radio program from 1997, Peggy Glanville-Hicks’ influential 1961 opera Nausicaa and Eileen Joyce’s 1933 piano composition Etude de Concert in F Minor & Etude de Concert in A Flat Major. 

First established in 2007, the Sounds of Australia aims to recognise and celebrate Australian “sound recordings with cultural, historical and aesthetic significance”.

Previously, the NSFA has inducted a number of prominent Australian tracks from a range of genres, including Goanna’s ‘Solid Rock’, Hilltop Hoods’ ‘The Nosebleed Section’, Kasey Chambers’ ‘Not Pretty Enough’ and ‘(I’m) Stranded’ by The Saints.

Find out more about this year’s inclusions into the Sounds of Australia via the National Sound and Film Archive website. 

The post Silverchair, The Master’s Apprentices to be added into Australia’s National Film and Sound Archive appeared first on mixdownmag.